Douglas County


County Information

Douglas County was named for U.S. Senator Stephen A. Douglas, Abraham Lincoln’s opponent in the presidential election of 1860 and an ardent congressional advocate for Oregon. Douglas County was created in 1852 from the portion of Umpqua County which lay east of the Coast Range summit. In 1862, Douglas County absorbed what remained of Umpqua County. Douglas County extends from sea level at the Pacific Ocean to 9,182-foot Mt. Thielsen in the Cascade Range. The Umpqua River marks the dividing line between northern and southern Oregon, and its entire watershed lies within the county’s boundaries. The county contains nearly 2.8 million acres of commercial forest lands and the largest stand of old growth timber in the world, which still provides the region’s main livelihood. Approximately 25 percent of the labor force is employed in the forest products industry. Agriculture includes field crops, orchards and livestock. Over 50 percent of the land area of the county is federal public land. Oregon Blue Book:
Contact Info
Douglas County
1036 SE Douglas, Rm 124
PO Box 10
Roseburg OR 97470

Hours: 8-12 / 1-5 M-F
541-440-4320 (Recording)
541-440-4252 (Elections)
General Fax #: 541-440-4408
Vital Statistics Fax#: 541-677-5820
MH Med Rec Fax#: 541-677-5818

Members Directory

Edit county information for Douglas County Administrative login required
Home |  Member Login designed and hosted by: Helion Software, Inc.