Clackamas County


County Information

Clackamas County was named for the resident Clackamas Tribe and was one of the four original Oregon counties created in 1843. Oregon City, the county seat, was the first incorporated city west of the Rocky Mountains, the first capital of the Oregon Territory, and the site of the first legislative session. In 1849, when the city of San Francisco was platted, Oregon City was the site of the only federal court west of the Rockies. The plat was filed in 1850 in the first plat book of the first office of records on the West Coast and is still in Oregon City. The area’s early history is featured at the Clackamas County Historical Society and Museum of the Oregon Territory. From its 55-foot elevation at Oregon City, the county rises to 11,235 feet at the peak of Mt. Hood, the only year-round ski resort in the United States, and the site of Timberline Lodge National Historical Landmark. The mountains, rivers and forests offer excellent outdoor recreation activities, from skiing and rafting to fishing and camping. Oregon Blue Book:
Contact Info
Clackamas County

Members Directory

Edit county information for Clackamas County Administrative login required
Home |  Member Login designed and hosted by: Helion Software, Inc.