Benton County


County Information

Benton County was created from Polk County by an act of the Provisional Government of Oregon in 1847. It is one of seven counties in the United States to be named after Senator Thomas Hart Benton of Missouri, a longtime advocate of the development of the Oregon Territory. The county was created out of an area originally inhabited by the Klickitat Tribe, who rented it from the Kalapuya Indians for use as hunting grounds. At that time, the boundaries began at the intersection of Polk County and the Willamette River, ran as far south as the California border and as far west as the Pacific Ocean. Later, portions of Benton County were taken to form Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Lane and Lincoln Counties, leaving it in its present form with 679 square miles of land area. Oregon State University, agriculture, and lumber and wood products manufacturing form the basis of Benton County’s economy. A substantial portion of the nation’s research in forestry, agriculture, engineering, education and the sciences takes place at OSU. Oregon Bluebook:
Contact Info
Benton County
Records & Elections
120 NW 4th Street
Corvallis OR 97330

541.766.6831 Records & Licenses
Fax Records 541.766.6675
541.766.6756 Elections
Fax Elections 541.766.6757

Members Directory

Edit county information for Benton County Administrative login required
Home |  Member Login designed and hosted by: Helion Software, Inc.